JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




Jazz → Big Band featuring Jimmy Rushing 1958  

Big Band featuring Jimmy Rushing 1958

Artist: Humphrey Lyttelton
Humphrey Lyttelton - Big Band featuring Jimmy Rushing 1958 CD
Label: Upbeat Jazz
Regular Price: $16.95
On Sale For: $8.48 
Year: 2001
Format: CD


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

In 1958, armed with a fistful of big-band arrangements, jazz/blues singer Jimmy Rushing arrived in London to appear with Humphrey Lyttelton's band on the BBC Jazz Club program. Tapes of these broadcasts sat in Lyttelton's desk drawer for more than 40 years before being resuscitated by reissuing them as this CD. At the time, Lyttelton had been in the forefront of British jazz for more than ten years, and he still is after more than 50 years of performing. The group that he had then included some present and future stars of jazz, including Tony Coe, Joe Temperley, and Duncan Campbell, Lyttelton takes most of the trumpet solos. Eddie Harvey takes on the function that Dickie Wells was responsible for by providing the trombone backing that Rushing favored for his blues numbers. Coe's clarinet is heard on "Stompy Jones." These broadcasts were obviously informal, freewheeling affairs. Lyttelton kicks off by announcing that they have a full program to present, but he's not quite sure what it will be. Lots of on the spot improvisation gives the whole proceeding that special feel of spontaneity. Rushing and Lyttelton are also heard going back and forth as they introduce each tune. Rushing is in fine fettle, as he shows on a swinging "It's a Sin to Tell a Lie" and "Somebody Stole My Gal." But it's not the singer's show completely: The band gets in quite a few licks, as well as instrumental-only cuts such as "Mezzrow." This album is classic Rushing merged with classic English jazz and, while its evolution to CD status has been a long time aborning, the results were worth the wait.
Humphrey Lyttelton (trumpet); Tony Coe (clarinet, alto sax); Jimmy Skidmore (tenor sax); John Picard (trombone); Ian Armit (piano); Brian Brocklehurst (bass); Eddie Taylor (drums)
1 Mezzrow (2:41)
2 Introduction to Next Track (0:41)
3 Jersey Lightning (3:30)
4 Introduction to Next Track (0:13)
5 On the Sunny Side of the Street (3:15)
6 Introduction to Next Track (0:45)
7 Evenin' (2:43)
8 Introduction to Next Track (0:16)
9 St. Louis Blues (3:39)
10 Introduction to Next Track (0:59)
11 Stompy Jones (2:42)
12 Introduction to Next Track (0:14)
13 It's a Sin to Tell a Lie (2:48)
14 Introduction to Next Track (0:48)
15 Harvard Blues (3:17)
16 Introduction to Next Track (0:17)
17 Mr. Five by Five (1:56)
18 Introduction to Next Track (0:20)
19 Jimmy's Blues (3:42)
20 Introduction to Next Track (0:23)
21 Somebody Stole My Gal (3:54)
22 Introduction to Next Track (0:47)
23 Heads or Tails (5:22)
24 Introduction to Next Track (0:26)
25 Texas Shuffle (3:23)
See all titles featuring Humphrey Lyttelton

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.

Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.