JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




Jazz → Este Camino Largo  

Este Camino Largo

Artist: Paquito D'Rivera
Paquito D'Rivera - Este Camino Largo CD
Label: Yemaya
Regular Price: $17.95
On Sale For: $8.98 
Year: 2002
Format: CD


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

This incredible release contains the tracks “Hasta Siempre” and “La Canción de los Niños”, originally included in the Paquito’s extremely rare LP “En Finlandia,” a limited edition album, published 25 years ago for the Cuban label Areito. Both tracks along with the first three that appear on the reference YY 9423 Paquito D’Rivera “The Lost Sessions”, complete this mythic LP (see picture).

This anthology of saxophonist Paquito D'Rivera's work inside and outside of Irakere in 1978 offers a view of the reedman as he was developing his mature jazz style adapted not only from the folk and dance musics of his native Cuba, but also from postmodern jazz. Among the ten tracks are cuts with Irakere as well as duets with Chucho Valdés, large-band dates (with a big-band date from Finland), and combo dates featuring countryman Arturo Sandoval on trumpet. Highlights include his own "Chikere — Son," his reading of Valdés' "Juana 1600," and a gorgeous interpretation of Villa-Lobos' "Prelude No. 3."

Paquito D'Rivera (tenor sax); Leo Brouwer (guitar); Irakere (percussion); Chucho Valdes (piano); Arturo Sandoval (trumpet); Carlos Averhoff (sax); Carlos Emilio Morales (guitar)
See all titles featuring Paquito D'Rivera

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.

Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.