JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




NewClassical → Francis Poulenc Plays Satie and Poulenc  

Francis Poulenc Plays Satie and Poulenc

Artist: Erik Satie
Erik Satie - Francis Poulenc Plays Satie and Poulenc CD
Label: Cherry Red
Regular Price: $17.95
On Sale For: $8.98 
Year: 2006
Format: CD


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

Exquisite set of historic recordings from the early 50s of Erik Satie and Francis Poulenc piano music played superbly by Satie’s friend Poulenc.

This Poulenc plays Satie and Poulenc album is one of the most sought after by Erik Satie followers and completists. The sensitivity of the performance rivals any and with the interpretations of Aldo Ciccolini it is regarded as the finest and the sound is pristine.

Satie and Poulenc are amongst the most important European composers of the 20th century. the work of both belongs to today and Satie especially is quoted as an inspiration by international modern musicians in the fields of jazz and rock and experimental music such as Frank Zappa and Brian Eno. Eno especially actively developed Satie's minimalism and ideas about furniture music toward the ambient music and "muzak" of today. A lovely performance of Satie¹s best known composition ‘Gymnopedie No 1’ is included here along with other famous pieces such as ‘Gnossienne No 3’ and ‘Descriptions Automatiques’.

The Poulenc numbers are also a delight. His most popular piece ‘Mouvements Perpetuels’ which was used by Alfred Hitchcock in the film "Rope" is included in this programme along with ‘"Suite Francaise’ that was a hit of it's day and much admired by Stravinsky. Erik Satie's legacy is his position as a progressive composer and his cross pollination of musical forms and contexts that mixed the artistic high culture with the trivial. Since the 60s especially, he has received worldwide appreciation and the recognition of his importance that he so truly deserves.

With Isan's recent 7" covering Erik Satie's 'Trois Gymnopedies', this wonderful set of recordings will allow those new to the composer to acquaint themselves with his utterly charming work - here played by good friend and fellow audiophile Francis Poulenc. Consistently one of the most sought after recordings for those with a completist attitude, this album consummately proves why the likes of Eno endlessly cite Satie as a core influence - with the likes of 'Sur Un Vaisseau', 'Espanana' and 'Audabe' all displaying the minimalistic stance that would later be labeled 'ambient'. The kind of music that has been recycled endlessly by popular culture, Satie's compositions seem utterly familiar without breeding contempt - with everyone from Hitchcock through to Lloyds TSB pressing his delicate melodies into action. Accompanied by a set of liner notes that place it all within context, this is a genuine delight from an unsurpassed talent. Satie hard!

Francis Poulenc (piano)
1. Sur Un Vaisseau / A Ship
2. Sur Une Lanterne / A Lantern
3. Sur Un Casque / A Helmet
4. Gymnopedie No. 1
5. Sarabande No. 2
6. Gnoissienne No. 3
7. Idylle
8. Audabe
9. Meditation
10. Tyrolienne Turque
11. Danse Maigre
12. Espanana
13. One
14. Two
15. Three
16. Nocturne No. 1 In C Major
17. Bransle De Bourgogne
18. Pavane
19. Petite Marche Militaire
20. Complainte
21. Bransle De Champagne
22. Sicilienne
23. Carillon
See all titles featuring Erik Satie

Erik Satie - Socrate/Mass For The Poor/Piano Pieces by Francis Poulenc CD
Erik Satie - Socrate/Mass For The Poor/Piano Pieces by Francis Poulenc CD

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.

Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.