JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




Avant-Garde → Vol. 2: New York Underground 1977-1984  

Vol. 2: New York Underground 1977-1984

Artist: New York Noise
New York Noise - Vol. 2: New York Underground 1977-1984 CD
Label: Soul Jazz
Regular Price: $18.95
On Sale For: $9.48 
Year: 2006
Format: CD


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

The follow-up to our highly acclaimed New York Noise compilation delves even deeper into the exciting and diverse range of music that sprang from downtown Manhattan's fertile community of bohemian artists and night people in the late seventies and early eighties!

Featuring the greatest and rarest punk funk, no wave, drone rock, spazz jazz, mutant disco, and more! This fantastic compilation charts the hidden links between these varied musical offerings and tells the secret story of this vibrant underground scene through extensive sleeve notes and archival photos!

Amoungst the treats in store for you in this jewel box of creative delights is a wicked hi-energy percussive stomper from Pulsallama; visceral guitar freak-outs from Red Transistor and Glenn Branca; two little-known leftfield disco not disco gems from cult hero Arthur Russell; tribal wonky wonders from Mofungo, Don King, Jim Jarmusch's Del Byzanteens, and Jill Kroesen; punk funk action from Certain General and The Glorious Strangers, drone rock bliss from the one and only Sonic Youth, and a truly fearsome guitar orchestra assault from Rhys Chatham!

A museum piece for future generations, this is the second part in the series of compilations documenting the New York scene which has been re-animated so unashamedly by our modern no-wavers DFA, The Strokes, The Yeah Yeah Yeahs, The Liars and Radio 4...and documented so well in Simon Reynolds’ brilliant ‘Rip it up and start again”. Soul Jazz have done themselves proud here with a collection that’s equal parts academic and funky. There are enough gems here to keep flailing fashionably from dusk until dawn and then some. From the tribal funk of Pulsallama to the jangley stomp of Certain General, and even squeezing in a gem from dark no wave superstars Sonic Youth; this compilation has a whole lot to be proud of. My favourite track here has to be the album’s closer; Y-Pants’ ‘Favourite Sweater’, a childish, lofi belter of a track with dischordant guitars, half sung vocals, a delayed glockenspiel and a lovely 4/4 kick drum for accompaniment – ace! If you’ve been following the new wave of no wave, then now is your chance to backtrack without any fear of stumbling upon a stray stinker.

1. Pulsallama - Ungawa Pt. 2
2. Mofungo - Hunter Gatherer
3. Red Transistor - Not Bite
4. Vortex O S T - Black Box Disco
5. Certain General - Back Downtown
6. Sonic Youth - I Dreamed I Dream
7. Rhys Chatham - Drastic Classicism
8. Clandestine Featuring Ned Sublette - Radio Rhythm (dub Mix)
9. Glorious Strangers - Move It Time
10. Felix (a K A Arthur Russell & Nicky Siano) - Tiger Stripes
11. The Del Byzanteens (featuring Jim Jarmusch) - My Hands Are Yellow From The Job That I Do
12. Don King - Tanajura
13. Jill Kroesen - Im Not Seeing That You Are Here
14. Ut - Sham Shack
15. The Static (glenn Branca) - My Relationship
16. Y Pants - Favorite Sweater
See all titles featuring New York Noise

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.

Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.