JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




Blues → Sings for Soulful Lovers / Seven Letters  

Sings for Soulful Lovers / Seven Letters

Artist: Ben E. King
Ben E. King - Sings for Soulful Lovers / Seven Letters CD
Label: DBK Works
Regular Price: $16.95
On Sale For: $8.48 
Year: 2007
Format: CD


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

This 2-fer features The Drifter's lead singer doing a set of standards on 1962's Sings for Soulful Lovers and his much underrated 1965 album, Seven Letters.

Sings For Soulful Lovers is a session that has Ben paired with a young Klaus Ogermann on arrangements. Although later a maestro of the heavy strings, at this point Ogermann's got a great little bounce in his backings -- that German-trained use of the electric bass in subtle ways, often used just enough here to give King's tunes a sweetly gentle groove! Even when the tunes are mellow, they've got a nicely stepping quality that moves things along nicely -- a classy approach to soul that's full, but never too slick or sleepy. And King's vocals are great, as always -- slightly raspy, and filled with an earnest, honest quality that makes even the familiar tunes come alive anew! Titles include "Dream Lover", "Because Of You", "What A Difference A Day Made", "He Will Break Your Heart", and "At Last".

Seven Letters is sophisticated soul from the great Ben E King -- the kind of record that few other soul artists could touch at the time, and which shows the ever-growing strength of his voice as a solo act! The approach here is similar to the style King first forged with The Drifters -- an uptown soul blend of raspy vocals, gentle rhythms, and some light orchestrations -- never too pop, and always balanced carefully enough to let King's warmth and soul shine through in the lyrics. Arrangements are by Jerry Wexler and Bert Berns -- both well-paired to match Ben's strength -- and titles include "Seven Letters", "River Of Tears", "Down Home", "It's All Over", and "Let The Water Run Down".

Ben E. King

1. My Heart Cries for You
 2. He Will Break Your Heart
 3. Dream Lover
 4. Will You Love Me Tomorrow
 5. My Foolish Heart
 6. Fever
 7. Moon River
 8. What a Difference a Day Made
 9. Because of You
 10. At Last
 11. On the Street Where You Live
 12. It's All in the Game
 13. Seven Letters
 14. River of Tears
 15. I'm Standing By
 16. Jamaica
 17. Down Home
 18. Si Señor
 19. It's All Over
 20. Let the Water Run Down
 21. This Is My Dream
 22. It's No Good for Me
 23. In the Middle of the Night
 24. Don't Drive Me Away


See all titles featuring Ben E. King

Z.Z. Hill, Jr. - Goin' To Mississippi CD
Z.Z. Hill, Jr. - Goin' To Mississippi CD
Bo-Keys - The Royal Sessions CD
Bo-Keys - The Royal Sessions CD
Lacy Gibson - Crying For My Baby CD
Lacy Gibson - Crying For My Baby CD
Michael Roach - Ain't Got Me No Home CD
Michael Roach - Ain't Got Me No Home CD

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.

Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.