JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




Avant-Garde → El Grito  

El Grito

Artist: Von Magnet
Von Magnet - El Grito CD
Label: Fairplay
Regular Price: $21.95
On Sale For: $10.98 
Year: 2006
Format: CD


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

Perhaps only Von Magnet are daring enough to combine electronica and flamenco into one fiery handbasket of awesome. Well, we here at Smother applaud originality so when we first heard Von Magnet’s rumbling thud of Spanish-influenced dance tracks we smiled from ear to ear. That grin continues into a land of absurdity on “El Grito”, as their self-proclaimed last episode of their “electro-flamenco” trilogy. Incredible vast with production that is both epic and sultry, “El Grito” features everything from vocals in Arabic, English, French, and Spanish to instruments as exotic as the bouzouki to more classical treats such as cello, clarinet, trumpet, percussion, and saxophone, to even the more rustic accordion. Angelic vocals are what gives this album an almost nomadic vibe, especially on the opening heart-wrencher, “Malhaya 1 Aire y Tierra”. Cinematic artistic collages that are utterly masterful and poetic; that’s the description I’d leave with you following this engaging listen.
Von Magnet: Laurence Abraham (violin); Flore Magnet (vocals); Rosa Sanchez (vocals); Erik Yaeger (percussion); Stocha (machines, saxophone, accordion, clarinet); Phil Von (lyrics, lead vocals); Pierre Vildard / Sigmoon (acoustic guitars, bouzouki, bass guitar, mandolin, electronic guitars)

Guests: Jingle (flamenco guitars, palmas); Nuria Kurland (sapateados, dance); Simon Lee (cojon, phone book percussion); Maud Caron (cello); Richard Cuvillier (trumpet); Vincent Vivien (bass clarinet); J.L.M. (bass guitar); M.S. Zanx (electric guitar, arrangements)

See all titles featuring Von Magnet

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.

Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.