JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




Jazz → Believe  


Artist: Chico Hamilton
Chico Hamilton - Believe CD
Label: Joyous Shout!
Regular Price: $16.95
On Sale For: $8.48 
Year: 2006
Format: CD


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

From the first outbreaks of Chico Hamilton's distinctive bossa groove and press-roll variations of same on the opening track "Evan's-Ville," you can tell that this veteran of the jazz wars shows virtually no signs of fatigue in his 85th year. Indeed, this compulsively listenable disc is but the second of four releases that the durable Hamilton put out in 2006 -- and like its brethren, this one has more than its share of surprises and delights. Of the four, it is on this album that Hamilton's signature drumming style -- never adequately given its due by historians -- comes most prominently into play, with its subtle yet pervasive washes of cymbals and Latin undercurrents that sweep the groove along. The majority of the tracks are compositions by Hamilton or members of his band -- the same basic lineup as on the other albums, plus perennial guest trombonist George Bohanon. The minor-chord vamp of "Christina," the tumbling bossa nova of "My Brother Bernie," and the Spanish modal "Arroyo" summon hypnotic trances not unlike those of the Hamilton groups of the '60s. Indeed, two players in particular, guitarist Cary DeNigris and flutist/tenor saxophonist Evan Schwam, often evoke the styles of their counterparts Gabor Szabo and Charles Lloyd in Hamilton's '60s bands. Yet at one point, as Hamilton strikes up another of his signature Latin-accented grooves and the horns play an ordinary sounding tune in unison, you look at the CD jacket and realize that they are doing a song by the Who, "The Kids Are Alright" -- completely transformed almost beyond recognition. There are more surprises ahead -- the delicate "Ballad for Mallets," where Hamilton plays entirely on the tom-toms, and a convincing, concluding venture into looping electronica, "Strut," utilizing a Joey Davis rhythm track cut five years before. On an earthier plane, Fontella Bass shouts the blues in a whiskey voice on "Love Me a Long Long Time" and saunters through "Baby Won't You Please Come Home" and a gospel waltz by Hamilton, "Believe In Him." Of the four Chico Hamilton albums of 2006, Believe is the pick of a very rich crop.
Chico Hamilton (drums); Cary Denigris (guitar); Evan Schwam (flute); Andrew Hadro (alto saxophone); Paul Ramsey (bass guitar); Jeremy Carlstedt (percussion); Fontella Bass (vocals); George Bohanon (trombone)
  1. Evan's-ville
  2. Love Me A Long, Long Time
  3. My Brother Don
  4. Christina
  5. Bones, No Meat
  6. Alive
  7. Baby Won't You Please Come Home
  8. My Brother Bernie
  9. Arroyo
  10. Andrewmatic
  11. The Kids Are Alright
  12. Believe In Him
  13. Ballad For Mallets
  14. Strut
See all titles featuring Chico Hamilton

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.

Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.