JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




Jazz → The Book of the Storm  

The Book of the Storm

Artist: Rob Reddy
Rob Reddy - The Book of the Storm CD
Label: Reddy Music
Regular Price: $14.95
On Sale For: $7.48 
Year: 2007
Format: CD


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

This was recorded live at the Tribeca Performing Arts Center in March of 2007 and it is truly an outstanding effort. Considering that this is Rob Reddy's fifth disc, I was quite surprised to hear how amazing this disc is. Each of Rob's previous discs has featured a sextet, while on this one Rob has expanded to an eighteen piece orchestra.

'The Book of the Storm' consists of four sections, with « Spacious Skies/Faithless Bells » being the first and the longest (23 minutes). There is no piano in this large ensemble, allowing Rob to feature the ever-amazing Brandon Ross to provide orchrestral colors and shades to the proceedings. Rob has also chosen not one, but two great drummers who seem to be churning layers of rhythms separately and swirling together. The horns and strings move in majestic waves while Brandon solos powerfuly on top. As John Carlson takes the first trumpet solo, the ensemble erupts around him in focused layers. I dig the way both guitarists play this central theme while the rest of the large ensemble erupt in layers around them, the various harmonies intersecting in a most fascinating way. The second section, « God Damn », features Brandon Ross on some sly acoustic slide guitar as the rest of the ensemble plays haunting off-kilter lines around him, some of the horns shrieking like ghosts. Charles Burnham takes an inspired, hypnotic solo as Brandon picks out blues-drenched slide notes with him in simpatico. Oscar Noriega's bass clarinet is featured on « Fool's March », along with a few layers of circular horn parts while both guitarists insert their sly lines with Burnham's bent yet nimble violin. While one of the guitarists plays his charted, repeating part, the other plays a magnificent fusion- toned solo. The aptly named final section, « Amongst the Ruins », is a stark and stunning conclusion with haunting French horn, trombone, dark strings and acoustic guitar. It ends with slow marching drums, like a funeral procession, bringing this mighty disc to grand close. Rob Reddy's 'The Book of the Storm' stands out as one great discs of this year. - Bruce Lee Gallanter of Downtown Music Gallery

Rob Reddy, composer and conductor
Oscar Noriega, clarinet and bass clarinet
Steve Elson, flute and soprano saxophone
Cochemea Gastelum, alto saxophone
Tim Otto, soprano and tenor saxophones
Lisa Parrott, soprano and baritone saxophones
John Carlson, trumpet
Bob Scarpulla, trumpet
Mark Taylor, French horn
Lis Rubbard, French horn
Curtis Hasselbring, trombone
Charles Burnham, violin
Sarah Bernstein, violin
Marlene Rice, viola
Mary Wooten, cello
Dom Richards, double bass
Brandon Ross, acoustic and electric guitars
Jon Margulies, electric guitar
Pheeroan akLaff, drums
Guillermo E. Brown, drums
See all titles featuring Rob Reddy

Tom Johnson - Rational Melodies CD
Tom Johnson - Rational Melodies CD
Ralph Shapey - Radical Traditionalism CD
Ralph Shapey - Radical Traditionalism CD
Anthony Braxton - 9 Compositions (Iridium) 2006 Now
Anthony Braxton - 9 Compositions (Iridium) 2006 Now
Philip Cohran - The Malcolm X Memorial CD
Philip Cohran - The Malcolm X Memorial CD

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.

Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.