JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




Jazz → DFQ - Dale Fielder Quartet Plays the Music of Pepper Adams  

DFQ - Dale Fielder Quartet Plays the Music of Pepper Adams

Artist: Dale Fielder
DFQ - Dale Fielder Quartet plays the music of Pepper Adams CD
Label: Clarion Jazz
Regular Price: $14.95
On Sale For: $7.48 
Year: 2007
Format: CD


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

In a 10 tune set that lasts for a generous hour and eleven plus minutes, Fielder has chosen seven Pepper Adams compositions that were personal favorites of Pepper Adams.  They were among Adams’ last and were what he considered as his best work, just before his death in 1986 at the age of 55.  The seven  compositions were culled from Adams’ Reflectory, The Masterand Adams’ Effect sessions.  Fielder included the standard, “Baubles, Bangles and Beads”, because they are also associated with Adams and recorded on his very first album in 1957.  However the sleepers of the entire CD may very well be Fielder’s 2 originals, “Frugal Apathy” a very interesting 6/8 Afro-Cuban composition that certainly sets the baritone sax in new territory; and the complex closer “Dimensions” where upon listening to how hard Fielder and Getz can swing, one realizes the power of the element of swing in jazz.  Combined with a touch of innovation, it can be a really beautiful thing.  Here Fielder swings mightily and creatively in the lower register of the baritone.  This solo alone certainly makes the case for Fielder being among jazz’s current top baritone saxophonists.
Dale Fielder-alto, tenor & baritone sax Jane Getz-piano Edwin Livingston-bass Thomas White Drums
  • Rue Serpente
  • Enchilada Baby
  • Boss Allegro
  • Lovers Of Their Time
  • I Carry Your Heart
  • Bossa Nouveau
  • Baubles, Bangles & Beads
  • Now In Our Lives
  • Frugal Apathy
  • Dimensions
  • See all titles featuring Dale Fielder

    Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

    There are no comments for this product.

    Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.