JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




Jazz → in Copenhagen  

New Classical
Other Genres
All Categories
Vinyl Records

 Browse Labels

Sign up for our Email Newsletter & Subscriber Only Specials

Payment Options
Checks & Money Orders
By Mail Accepted

Authorize.Net Merchant - Click to Verify  

Click for company profile

Follow us on Twitter

in Copenhagen

Artist: Kenny Drew
Kenny Drw - In Copenhagen CD
Label: Storyville
Regular Price: $14.95
On Sale For: $5.98 
Year: 2008
Format: CD


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

For much of his lifetime, the great Kenny Drew was extremely well-known throughout the European jazz community, yet largely forgotten in his homeland the USA. The reasons for this were directly linked to his decision to become an expatriate and his determination to stand by that decision.

He first lived in Paris, while commuting to other parts of Europe for festivals but after moving to Denmark and marrying the daughter of pianist Leo Mathisen, Drew entered the period covered by this album. Kenny was now able to draw together the threads of his already identifiable style and to develop it in a wider variety of contexts. His accompaniment work at Copenhagen’s Montmartre not only renewed his acquaintance with such musicians as Griffin, Gordon, McLean, Rollins and the ageing Hawkins but brought him into contact with players he might otherwise not have met such as Ben Webster and Stuff Smith.

Kenny Drew (piano); Niels-Henning Orsted Pedersen, Bo Stief (bass)
Everything I Love, Odd To Mariann, Willow Weep For me, Swingin’ Till The girls Come Home, Yesterdays, Blues For Nils, A Simple Need, Whisper Not, Blues For Nils, There’s No Greater Love, Ack Värmland Du Sköna
See all titles featuring Kenny Drew

Frank Rosolino - In Copenhagen CD
Frank Rosolino - In Copenhagen CD

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.

Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.