JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




Jazz → Fine and Mellow  

Fine and Mellow

Artist: Billie Holiday
Billie Holiday - Fine and Mellow
Label: Passport Audio
Regular Price: $6.95
On Sale For: $3.48 
Year: 2006
Format: CD


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

FINE AND MELLOW is a collection of live performances and radio transcriptions from various periods of Billie Holiday's career. Personnel includes: Billie Holiday (vocals). Includes liner notes by David Nathan. If one were asked to come up with a story line more tragic than Billie Holiday's, surely nobody would believe it. Of course we can never know whether suffering all those cruel slings and arrows--drug addiction, prostitution, jail, an endless string of failed love affairs, the Jim Crow treatment in spite of stardom--was necessary for her to achieve such peerless artistry. Whatever the answer, that artistry, in all its tortured brilliance, is on full display throughout FINE AND MELLOW. This collection brings together studio and live performances predominantly from Holiday's middle and late periods, the late '40s and the '50s. Her sultry tease of a delivery turns standards such as "They Can't Take That Away From Me" and "You've Changed" into personal statements of utter singularity. Also included is a brief excerpt from a radio interview ("Introduction into Fine and Mellow") with Billie explaining her blues sensibility and tempo variability.
Billie Holiday
  1. Fine and Mellow
  2. What a Little Moonlight Can Do
  3. Fooling Myself
  4. Until the Real Thing Comes Along
  5. Blues Are Brewin'
  6. He's Funny That Way
  7. Billie's Blues
  8. All Of Me
  9. Tenderly
  10. I Don't Stand a Ghost of a Chance
  11. I Loves You Porgy
  12. When Your Lover Has Gone
See all titles featuring Billie Holiday

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.

Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.