JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




Jazz → Five  

New Classical
Other Genres
All Categories
Vinyl Records

 Browse Labels

Sign up for our Email Newsletter & Subscriber Only Specials

Payment Options
Checks & Money Orders
By Mail Accepted

Authorize.Net Merchant - Click to Verify  

Click for company profile

Follow us on Twitter


Artist: Ralph Bowen
Ralph Bowen - Five CD
Label: Criss Cross
Regular Price: $16.95
On Sale For: $12.47 
Year: 2008
Format: CD


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

For Ralph Bowen's fourth date as a leader for Criss Cross, he returns to the organ combo format that made 2002s Soul Proprietor (Criss 1216) a significant departure and valuable addition to the tenor man's precious catalog.

Returning from that session are trumpeter and Criss Cross regular John Swana, organist Sam Yahel, and guitar man Peter Bernstein, with drummer Dana Hall rounding out the ensemble.

Bowen's muse is an advanced take on the freewheeling implications of John Coltrane's pioneering vernacular. As such, he tackles the framework of the organ goup with a fresh outlook that has more to do with the late 60s work of Larry Young than the grits and gravy approach of Jimmy Smith.

In addition to the four of his own originals, Bowen puts a new spin on Woody Shaw's "Rahsaan's Run", Joe Henderson's "Step Lightly", and U2's "Drowning Man".
Recorded October 20, 2007 in Brooklyn, NY.
Ralph Bowen (tenor sax); John Swana (trumpet); Peter Bernstein (guitar); Sam Yahel (Hammond B3 Organ); Dana Hall (drums)
  1. Step Lightly (Joe Henderson)
  2. Baby Girl (Ralph Bowen)
  3. First Hiatus (Ralph Bowen)
  4. Free Time (Ralph Bowen)
  5. Blues Cruz (Ralph Bowen)
  6. Drowning Man (U2)
  7. Rahsaan's Run (Woody Shaw)
See all titles featuring Ralph Bowen

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.

Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.