JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




Jazz → Song Of The New World  

New Classical
Other Genres
All Categories
Vinyl Records

 Browse Labels

Sign up for our Email Newsletter & Subscriber Only Specials

Payment Options
Checks & Money Orders
By Mail Accepted

Authorize.Net Merchant - Click to Verify  

Click for company profile

Follow us on Twitter

Song Of The New World

Artist: McCoy Tyner
McCoy Tyner - Song of the New World Vinyl LP
Label: Original Jazz Classics
Regular Price: $10.95
On Sale For: $6.57 
Year: 1991
Format: Vinyl


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

Song of the New World represents a point of departure for McCoy Tyner. In previous recordings he had composed and arranged for medium-sized groups with horns. But for this 1973 album he set himself a challenge of considerable complexity, to properly deploy the resources of a big jazz band and, on some tracks, strings and woodwinds. Tyner more than satisfactorily marshalled these large forces, avoiding the pitfalls of either overwhelming his piano or reducing the supporting cast to mere background music. Tyner's approach to orchestration, as to piano playing, is centered in unity, completeness, and uncompromising musicianship.
McCoy Tyner (piano) with Virgil Jones, Cecil Bridgewater, Jon Faddis, Garnett Brown, Dick Griffin, Julius Watkins, Hubert Laws, Sonny Fortune, Bob Stewart, Joony Booth, Alphonse Mouzon, Sonny Morgan, and others.
  • Afro Blue
  • Little Brother
  • The Divine Love
  • Some Day
  • Song Of The New World
See all titles featuring McCoy Tyner

Baikida Carroll - Shadows and Reflections Vinyl LP
Baikida Carroll - Shadows and Reflections Vinyl LP
Paquito D'Rivera - Portraits of Cuba SACD
Paquito D'Rivera - Portraits of Cuba SACD

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.

Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.