JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




Jazz → Animal Sounds  

Animal Sounds

Artist: Sam Phipps
Sam Phipps - Animal Sounds CD
Label: Wondercap
Regular Price: $12.95
On Sale For: $6.48 
Year: 2007
Format: CD


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

Recorded In Los Angeles back in ‘80 and ’82, Animal Sounds was recorded by onetime Oingo Boingo saxophonist Sam “Sluggo” Phipps, and the then member of the new wave/ska group was in a definite experimental mood. Each song on Animal Sounds has its own searching personality. Moods and colors range include the long drawn rubato/cacophonic sax work on “Mystery” contrasted with Noah Young’s edgy bass and Steve Larantz’s multidirectional drumming. In Stark contrast is the hard hitting title piece which has a wide array of horns clucking and fluttering in and out of sync, sounding as if one were eavesdropping on multiple conversations at a cocktail party. In complete variance is Phipps’ explorative acapella performance of “Woke Up Clipped,” which includes a range of blues wailing, growling and honking. John Larkin’s dramatic and percussive piano draws reminiscence of McCoy Tyner during the boppish duet on “No End.” Intense, free and barring no holds, Phipps and friends put out a thought provoking recording that still carries a sharp edge 25 years later. Thanks to Wondercap Records for bringing this gem back to Boingo fans and improv fans alike.
Sam Phipps (tenor sax); John Larkin (piano); Noah Young (bass); Steve Larantz (drums)
1. Elevation
2. Mystery
3. Decision
4. One On One
5. Animal Sounds
6. Woke Up Clipped
7. T.O. Too (live radio broadcast)
8. No End (live radio broadcast)
9. Lark In The Wind (live radio broadcast)
10. Silent Night (live radio broadcast)
See all titles featuring Sam Phipps

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.

Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.