JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




Jazz → The Secret Agent  

The Secret Agent

Artist: Philip Glass
Philip Glass - The Secret Agent CD
Label: Orange Mountain
Regular Price: $18.95
On Sale For: $9.48 
Year: 2009
Format: CD


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

The new release from Philip Glass’s record label Orange Mountain Music, presents the score to the Christopher Hampton thriller, The Secret Agent. (This release is a re-issue of Nonesuch 79442-2)

Verloc (Bob Hoskins) has made his living spying for the Russian government, while simultaneously providing information to the London police.When the new Russian ambassador demands he prove his worth or lose his salary, Verloc sets off a tragic chain of events that involves his pretty young wife Winnie (Patricia Arquette), her retarded brother Stevie (Christian Bale), and a figure called the Professor (Robin Williams), whose fascination with explosives and destruction makes him the person to call on when Verloc needs a bomb. Christopher Hampton, the film’s director and screenwriter, is also known for his stage and screen versions of "Dangerous Liasons" and more recently for his screenplay to the award-winning “Atonement.” Hampton and Glass later worked together when the composer asked the writer to create a libretto from J.M Coetzee’s novel “Waiting for the Barbarians” in 2005. Hampton again wrote a libretto Glass’ 2007 opera “Appomattox”about the meeting of Robert E. Lee and Ulysses S. Grant at Appomattox Courthouse at the end of the American Civil War.

Philip Glass (cpmposer); Susan Jolles (harp); Fred Sherry (cello); Henry Schuman (English horn, oboe); Keith Underwook (flute, piccolo)
1. Secret Agent
2. Winnie Remembers
3. Verloc and the Russian Embassy
4. Blood On The Stairs
5. The First Meridian
6. Emigration
7. Trust
8. Winnie?
9. Explosives
10. All The Money
11. Simple
12. Roast Beef
13. Safe Journey
14. Ossipon Is Tempted
15. Winnie Goes To Sea
16. Secret Agent Ending
See all titles featuring Philip Glass

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.

Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.