JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




Jazz → Creesus Crisis  

Creesus Crisis

Artist: No More Shapes
No More Shaopes - Creesus Crisis CD
Label: Drip Audio
Regular Price: $14.95
On Sale For: $7.48 
Year: 2010
Format: CD


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

Creesus Crisis is the first full length recording by Calgary based trio NoMoreShapes, featuring Jay Crocker on guitar & electronics, J.C. Jones on trombone and Eric Hamelin on drums & percussion. NoMoreShapes was formed in 2007 through a series of early Bug Incision (bugincision.com) gigs and from tapes filled with seemingly unremarkable, sweaty keyboard & drum riffs (written & recorded by Eric Hamelin). These disparate motifs would turn out to be the starting point for the trio's music and within the year enough material for an album was developed.

Creesus Crisis explores territories such as small sound electronic improvisations to full on Ornette-ish like free bop, drawing from musical sources such as rock , pop, folk, jazz, free improvisation and noise. NoMoreShapes have previously shared bills with the Cowboy Junkies, ZMF trio (Jesse Zubot, Jean Martin, Joe Fonda), Copilots, Joe Sorbara, Josh Zubot, Chad VanGaalen and more. Live shows include original compositions and arrangements from such sources as Black Sabbath, Thelonius Monk and Steve Lacy.

Aside from his main gig as Chad VanGaalen’s drummer, Eric Hamelin has had the opportunity to collaborate with the Josh Zubot, Copilots, Jesse Zubot, Simon Fisk, Pierre-Yves Martel, Tania Gill, Lina Allemano, Chris Dadge, Darren Williams, Dave Chokroun and many more.

Jay Crocker produces his own solo pop and improv recordings, and has produced a hand full of albums for various bands and singer songwriters. Jay is also a member of the band Ghostkeeper (out on Flemish Eye). Crocker has shared the stage with Eric Chenaux, the Akron family and many others and is also a staple in the Calgary improv and noise scene.

J.C. Jones has played/recorded with a host of wide-ranging acts such as Ryan Bourne to Chamber Graffiti and has also recently been featured as a harpist/vocalist on a Smithsonian compilation documenting Welsh folk music.
Joe Crocker (guitar); J. C. Jones (trombone)

1. White Chicks
2. Fat Kid
3. Say Chin
4. Invisible Glasses
5. If Only My Chin Had Eyes
6. Snake Legs
7. Twice Bitten
8. If Only... (2)
9. Tears of the Penix
10. New Years (Yves')

See all titles featuring No More Shapes

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.

Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.