JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




NewClassical → Cold Blue  

Cold Blue

Artist: Various Artists
Cold Blue - Cold Blue Music CD
Label: Cold Blue
Regular Price: $14.95
On Sale For: $7.48 
Year: 2002
Format: CD


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

Back by popular demand (and available for the first time as a CD), this essential collection of West Coast new music—an anthology known simply as Cold Blue—is a classic. Originally issued on vinyl in 1984, shortly before the demise of the old Cold Blue label, the disc quickly became the company's most popular release. When Cold Blue was started up again in 2000, the company received numerous letters encouraging it to re-release the anthology as a CD.

Although bound together by a common concern with music's basic sensuality, the pieces collected here are wide-ranging in style—process-driven works, through-composed pieces, ambient soundscapes, and music that glances in the directions of world music and avant-pop influences. In instrumentation, the music is also wide-ranging—from a celesta solo to a marimba quartet to a player piano solo to works for speaking voices to music for piano and bullroarer, plus works for solo piano, synthesizers, cello and piano, and perhaps the only known piece of new music for pedal steel guitar and multi-tracked banjo.

New to this CD version of the anthology is a "bonus" track—a previously unreleased piano piece by composer David Mahler.

Eugene Bowen (composer); Harold Budd (composer); Michael Jon Fink (composer)
1. Beatrix
2. Gradual Siciliano
3. The Three Strange Angels
4. You can't See the Forest
5. Marimbas in the Dorian MOde
6. Appearance of Red
7. La Ciudad de Nuestra Señora la Reina de Los Angeles
8. Weddings, Funerals and Children Who Cannot Sleep
9. In This Light
10. Necessity
11. Celesta Solo
12. Wonder's Edge
13. Spectral CANON for CONLON Nancarrow

See all titles featuring Various Artists

Christian Wolff - Long Piano CD
Christian Wolff - Long Piano CD

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.

Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.