JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




Jazz → With Alan Wilkinson: Dem Ol' Apple Pie Melodies  

With Alan Wilkinson: Dem Ol' Apple Pie Melodies

Artist: Talibam!
Talibam! with Alan Wilkinson - Dem Ol' Apple Pie Melodies Vinyl LP
Label: Bo Weavil
Regular Price: $23.95
On Sale For: $15.57 
Year: 2010
Format: Vinyl


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

Listen NowLet's Go Hang Out in Tescos
Listen NowSound is a Pound
Determined to continue collaborating with revolutionary blitzkrieg musicians in perpetuity, Brooklyn's Talibam! (Matt Mottel and Kevin Shea) were set up on a blind date with Alan Wilkinson by Bo' Weavil Recordings for a London basement show in May 2008. Like a late '60's Sadean love-in ripe with Joycean epiphanies, Talibam! heard in Wilkinson's tone the strength and grit of a fine British pint served cool and fresh... a perfect energy to swing-bounce their roly-poly hieroglyphic dance mayhem. A second gig happened in fall 2008, followed by this recording in winter 2009. If Talibam! and Wilkinson were a rugby team, they'd be in first place, trouncing competitors with more riff-hard tenacity and more powerful/declarative end-zone dances. Balancing contradictory cultural fragments into a psychedelic yin and yang power drive of glitch emission, sprezzatura horns, Zarathrusta organ drone launch, and sayanora-rama drum spills, Wilkinson, Mottel, and Shea turn animatronic nihilists into veritable musicological sexphorisms -- they cut the tension on the dancefloor like that abrupt liminal point between peace and footsie, between donuts and bagels, between lizards and turtles. These three dangerously handsome myriad-men from the future have materialized mixed signals into sharp-fanged foreign accents on this red-eye voyage to vinyl metropoly, a 2-sided ecosystem of Gatsby-killer morph-prov entitled Dem Ol' Apple Pie Melodies.

Limited edition of 350 hand-numbered copies. Lavish heavyweight matte sleeve with insert, designed by Damien Beaton.
Kevin Shea (drums); Matt Mottel (synthesizer); Alan Wilkinson (alto & baritone sax, voice)
See all titles featuring Talibam!

Jeff Beck - Wired 180g Vinyl LP
Jeff Beck - Wired 180g Vinyl LP
Build an Ark - Love Part 1 (LP)
Build an Ark - Love Part 1 (LP)

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.

Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.