JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




Jazz → The Fabulous Miss D! The Keynote, Decca & Mercury Singles 1943-1953  

The Fabulous Miss D! The Keynote, Decca & Mercury Singles 1943-1953

Artist: Dinah Washington
Dinah Washington - The Fabulous Miss D: The Keynote, Decca, & Mercury Singles 1943-1953 [Box set] CD
Label: Verve
Regular Price: $74.97
On Sale For: $64.97 
Year: 2010
Format: CD


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

Dinah's pre-LP singles, all 107 in one place for the first time! Dinah Washington was the undisputed Queen of the Jukeboxes in the late 1940s and early 1950s, the pre-LP, pre-45s era when that title meant everything. Dinah had huge hits and sell-out shows; she was a leading lady on the new Mercury label as well as a star of the blues circuit and the new genre of rhythm & blues. Admired by the jazz community, noticed by the pop world, within a few years she conquered both. The Fabulous Miss D! chronicles the first 10 years of her extraordinary short-lived career. This 4-CD box set includes 107 tracks: 102 of them formerly issued as 78-rpm singles from the Mercury label, the rest are her previous singles for Keynote (later reissued on Mercury) and her one-off release for Decca as lead vocalist of the Lionel Hampton Orchestra, where she got her start. This is the first time all of these original, pre-LP-era singles have been available in one package; acquiring them previously would have required purchasing several volumes of an earlier "Complete Mercury Recordings" box set from Japan, which is long out of print and excluded the Keynote and Decca recordings. These singles are presented in release sequence here for the first time since their original issue.

The Fabulous Miss D! is highlighted by Washington's biggest chart hits, including "Evil Gal Blues," "Ain't Misbehavin'," "West Side Baby," "Am I Asking Too Much" (her first R&B chart No. 1), the two-sided smash "Baby Get Lost"/"Long John Blues," "Trouble In Mind," and many more. She was backed by the leading lights of the studio jazz musicians in New York and Chicago, including Ray Brown, Wynton Kelly, Jimmy Cobb, Keter Betts and others. All of the songs have been significantly restored and remastered, making Dinah's voice--one moment surging with sincerity and the next snapping like a whip--sound better than ever.

The music is housed in another fantastic Verve Select package. It's a slip-case set the same size as the previously released and critically acclaimed releases from Oscar Peterson, Ella Fitzgerald and Nat King Cole. The same standards of information and visual extras are in place: rare original photographs-- including a few never seen before; detailed annotations; a chronological rendering of Dinah's sessions; and an alphabetical index to help find your favorites in the set. Tying it all together is an entertaining and informative essay by Marc Myers of JazzWax, who interviewed some of Dinah's surviving contemporaries.

Dinah Washington - Fabulous!
Disc: 1
1. Evil Gal Blues
2. Homeward Bound
3. Salty Papa Blues
4. I Know How To Do It
5. Blow-Top Blues Lionel Hampton and His Septet
6. I Can't Get Started With You
7. Joy Juice
8. Embraceable You
9. When A Woman Loves A Man
10. Oo Wee Walkie Talkie
11. A Slick Chick (On The Mellow Side)
12. Postman Blues
13. That's Why A Woman Loves A Heel
14. I Want To Be Loved
15. Stairway To The Stars
16. Mean And Evil Blues
17. Fool That I Am
18. Since I Fell For You
19. You Can Depend On Me
20. There's Got To Be A Change
21. Early In The Morning
22. I Love You, Yes I Do
23. Don't Come Knockin' At My Door
24. Ain't Misbehavin'
25. No More Lonely Gal Blues
26. West Side Baby
27. Walkin' And Talkin'

Disc: 2
1. I Want To Cry
2. Resolution Blues
3. Tell Me So
4. In The Rain
5. Am I Asking Too Much
6. I Sold My Heart To The Junkman
7. It's Too Soon To Know
8. I'll Wait
9. Why Can't You Behave
10. It's Funny
11. You Satisfy
12. Laughing Boy
13. What Can I Say After I Say I'm Sorry
14. Pete
15. Baby Get Lost
16. Long John Blues
17. Am I Really Sorry
18. Good Daddy Blues
19. Richest Guy In The Graveyard
20. I Only Know
21. New York, Chicago and Los Angeles
22. It Isn't Fair
23. Journey's End
24. I Wanna Be Loved
25. Love With Misery

Disc: 3
1. I'll Never Be Free
2. Big Deal
3. How Deep Is The Ocean
4. Why Don't You Think Things Over
5. Harbor Lights
6. I Cross My Fingers
7. Time Out For Tears
8. Only A Moment Ago
9. My Kind Of Man
10. If I Loved You
11. Fast Movin' Mama
12. Juice Head Man Of Mine
13. My Heart Cries For You
14. I Apologize
15. I Won't Cry Anymore
16. Don't Say You're Sorry Again
17. Please Send Me Someone To Love
18. Ain't Nobody's Business But My Own
19. Fine Fine Daddy
20. I'm So Lonely I Would Cry
21. If You Don't Believe I'm Leaving (Count The Days I'm Gone)
22. I'm A Fool To Want You
23. Cold Cold Heart
24. Mixed Emotions
25. Be Fair To Me
26. Saturday Night

Disc: 4
1. Out In The Cold Again The Ravens and Dinah Washington
2. Hey, Good Looking The Ravens and Dinah Washington
3. Just One More Chance
4. Baby Did You Hear
5. Wheel Of Fortune
6. Tell Me Why
7. Trouble In Mind
8. New Blowtop Blues
9. New Blowtop Blues
10. I Can't Face The Music (Without Singing The Blues)
11. Pillow Blues
12. Double Dealing Daddy
13. My Song
14. Half As Much
15. Stormy Weather
16. Make Believe Dreams
17. I Cried For You
18. Gambler's Blues
19. You Let My Love Grow Cold
20. Ain't Nothing Good
21. Lean Baby
22. Never, Never
23. TV Is The Thing (This Year)
24. Fat Daddy
25. Silent Night
26. The Lord's Prayer
27. My Man's An Undertaker
28. Since My Man Has Gone And Went
See all titles featuring Dinah Washington

Space-Saving DVD Sleeves
Space-Saving DVD Sleeves
CD Accessories - Space-Saving CD Sleeves CD
CD Accessories - Space-Saving CD Sleeves CD
Art Tatum / Ben Webster - The Album CD
Art Tatum / Ben Webster - The Album CD

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.

Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.