JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




Jazz → First Impulse: The Creed Taylor Collection 50th Anniversary (Box Set)  

First Impulse: The Creed Taylor Collection 50th Anniversary (Box Set)

Artist: Various Artists
First Impulse: The Creed Taylor Collection 50th Anniversary CD
Label: Impulse!
Regular Price: $64.95
On Sale For: $32.48 
Year: 2011
Format: CD


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

Beautiful hard cover book with 4 compact discs!

Legendary producer Creed Taylor launched the legendary Impulse label 50 years ago, wrapping his roster in a definitive look and an instantly iconic logo. First Impulse: The Creed Taylor Collection, an exciting 4-disc collection from Verve Select, includes all six albums produced by Taylor for the label that proudly wore its signature colors of orange and black on its spines – plus rare tracks including unreleased John Coltrane rehearsals. The included 84-page hardbound book features essays by Mr. Taylor and associate producer Ashley Kahn, author of the best-selling book on Impulse, The House That Trane Built, as well as session photos and reproductions of the original LP artwork.
The six Taylor-produced albums in the set: Ray Charles’s Genius + Soul = Jazz, inducted into the Grammyâ Hall of Fame in 2011; John Coltrane’s Africa/Brass, the label debut of the great artist, who would have been 85 in September this year; Gil Evans’ Out Of The Cool; Oliver Nelson’s Blues and The Abstract Truth; along with two albums by trombonist Kai Winding, The Great Kai & J.J. (with J.J. Johnson) and The Incredible Kai Winding Trombones, both on U.S. CD for the first time. The set includes such radio hits and jazz anthems as Charles’ “One Mint Julep” – the rare mono single version is also included at Mr. Taylor’s request – Coltrane’s “Africa,” Evans’ “La Nevada” and Nelson’s “Stolen Moments,” plus rare alternate takes and unused performances, that offer a comprehensive look at the diverse range of music recorded during the label’s first six months.
First Impulse: The Creed Taylor Collection also features a remarkable discovery: never before available performances by John Coltrane, originally recorded in a demo session 50 years ago for Africa/Brass. The three performances include the standard “Laura” and two original compositions by Cal Massey, who arranged the session: “The Damned Don’t Cry” (later recorded at the Africa/Brass sessions) and “Nakatini Serenade” – a slower version than the one Coltrane recorded for Prestige in 1958.
From 1961 through ’76, Impulse was an important part of a pivotal, fertile period in jazz history. Through the exciting and rapid changes of the ’60s and ’70s, Impulse Records was arguably the most effective label bringing the exciting world of jazz to a new generation of listeners.
J.J. Johnson, Kai Winding, Ray Charles, Gil Evans, Oliver Nelson, John Coltrane and more!
Disc One
1. This Could Be The Start Of Something
2. Georgia On My Mind
3. Blue Monk
4. Judy
5. Alone Together
6. Side By Side
7. I Concentrate On You
8. Moonglow/Theme From “Picnic”
9. Trixie
10. Going, Going, Gong!
11. Just For A Thrill
12. Speak Low
13. Lil Darlin’
14. Doodlin’
15. Love Walked In
16. Mangos
17. Impulse
18. Black Coffee
19. Bye, Bye, Blackbird
20. Michie (Slow)
21. Michie (Fast)

Disc Two
1. From The Heart
2. I’ve Got News For You
3. Moanin’
4. Let’s Go
5. One Mint Julep
6. I’m Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town
7. Stompin’ Room Only
8. Mister C
9. Strike Up The Band
10. Birth Of The Blues
11. La Nevada
12. Where Flamingos Fly
13. Bilbao Song
14. Stratusphunk
15. Sunken Treasure

Disc Three
1. Stolen Moments
2. Hoe-Down
3. Cascades
4. Yearnin’
5. Butch and Butch
6. Teenie’s Blues
7. Africa
8. Greensleeves
9. Blues Minor

Disc Four
1. One Mint Julep mono single version
2. Sister Sadie
3. Song Of The Underground Railroad
4. Greensleeves alternate take
5. The Damned Don’t Cry
6. Africa first version
7. Africa alternate take
8. Laura rehearsal version
9. Nakatine Serenade slow version
10. The Damned Don’t Cry rehearsal version 
See all titles featuring Various Artists

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.

Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.