JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




Jazz → Kisses on the Bottom (180g 2-LP)  

Kisses on the Bottom (180g 2-LP)

Artist: Paul McCartney
Paul McCartney - Kisses on the Bottom 180g Vinyl LP
Label: Universal Music
Regular Price: $32.95
On Sale For: $21.42 
Year: 2012
Format: Vinyl - Audiophile


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

180-gram audiophile 2-LP set.  Includes the complete MP3 download.

While many a musician has often been asked about tunes that have influenced their songwriting, Paul McCartney has never properly answered the question. Until now. The ex-Beatle offer a glimpse into “the songs which inspired the songs” with Kisses On the Bottom, an album of standards he grew up listening to in his childhood plus two brand new McCartney compositions.

With the help of Grammy Award-winning producer Tommy LiPuma and Diana Krall and her band, as well as guest appearances from Eric Clapton and Stevie Wonder, McCartney’s new album is a deeply personal journey through classic American compositions that, in some cases, the performer first heard his father perform on piano at home. As authentic and daring a musical statement as he could make, this is the album McCartney has been thinking about making for more than 20 years and probably the last thing his fans are expecting. “In the end it was ‘Look, if I don’t do it now, I’ll never do it,” he says.

In short, he believes it is about time “the songs me and John based quite a few of our things on” received the recognition they deserve. Moreover, the record also features two new original McCartney compositions in the spirit of those classics. “When I kind of got into songwriting, I realized how well structured these songs were and I think I took a lot of my lessons from them,” he explains. “I always thought artists like Fred Astaire were very cool. Writers like Harold Arlen, Cole Porter, all of those guys, I just thought the songs were magical. And then, as I got to be a songwriter I thought it’s beautiful, the way they made those songs.”

Determined to approach the record in a new and unique manner, McCartney enlisted the help of LiPuma and Krall and her band, which deliver ultra-high quality musicianship and are completely in tune with the headliner's restraint and feel for the music. In the studio, the recording of this album presented a new challenge for McCartney who, for the first time ever, performed exclusively in the vocal booth without any instrument (no guitar, no bass, no piano), leading to vocal performances like none other in his career.

He adds: “It was very spontaneous, kind of organic, which then reminded me of the way we’d work with The Beatles. We’d bring a song in, kick it around, when we found a way to do it we’d say ‘Okay, let's do a take now’ and by the time everyone kind of had an idea of what they were doing, we’d learnt the song. So that’s what we did, we did the take live in the studio.”

The album was recorded at the legendary Capitol Studios in Los Angeles, New York and London throughout 2011. It also features guest musicians Eric Clapton and Stevie Wonder, respectively, on the original compositions "My Valentine" and "Only Our Hearts."
Paul McCartney (vocals, rhythm arrangements); Diana Krall (piano); John Pizzarelli, Bucky Pizzarelli, Eric Clapton, Anthony Wilson (guitar); Karriem Riggins (drums); Mike Mainieri (vibes); Robert Hurst, John Clayton, Christian McBride (bass); London Symphony Orchestra; Alan Broadbent (orchestra arrangements)
  1. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself A Letter
  2. Home (When Shadows Fall)
  3. It's Only A Paper Moon
  4. More I Cannot Wish You
  5. The Glory of Love
  6. We Three (My Echo, My Shadow and Me)
  7. Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate The Positive
  8. My Valentine
  9. Always
  10. My Very Good Friend the Milkman
  11. Bye Bye Blackbird
  12. Get Yourself Another Fool
  13. The Inch Worm
  14. The Only Hearts
See all titles featuring Paul McCartney

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.

Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.