JazzLoft Home | Shopping Cart Shopping Cart | My Wish List | Customer Service




Blues → Threshold  

New Classical
Other Genres
All Categories
Vinyl Records

 Browse Labels

Sign up for our Email Newsletter & Subscriber Only Specials

Payment Options
Checks & Money Orders
By Mail Accepted

Authorize.Net Merchant - Click to Verify  

Click for company profile

Follow us on Twitter


Artist: Sugar Blue
Sugar Blue - Threshold CD
Label: Beeble
Regular Price: $16.95
On Sale For: $6.78 
Year: 2010
Format: CD


E-mail this product to a friend E-mail this product to a friend

Threshold is new territory indeed from Sugar Blue who shows us
again his eclectic creative powers with this evocative pastiche.
Grammy award winning harmonica player, vocalist and
song writer he is known for walking the line between the fathers
of the blues and the rock generation.

This new endeavor follows the acclaimed 2007 release of
Code Blue and is a witness to Blue’s evolving and ever active
career path.

Rico McFarland’s rhythmic eloquence combined with Motoaki
Makino’s rocking power and melodic subtlety delivers an
exceptional rhythmic horizon: Blue’s improvisational forays
combine with it to reveal an emotional passage into uncharted
musical vistas.

Nine original songs co-written with bassist Ilaria Lantieri and
guitarist Motoaki Makino that range from rock, funk, ballads and
blues are diverse, powerful and poignant. “Stop the war” is a cry
for peace…in the best dylanesque tradition…with the funk! The
superlative bass line laid in the pocket by special guest Bill
Dickens (Stevie Wonder)

“Cotton Tree” is written in honor and celebration of the musical
influence and career of The Super Harp, James Cotton, mentor
to Sugar Blue and thousands of harmonica players world wide.
The two cover tunes by Junior Wells and Elvis Presley are done
with reverence and good natured fun, celebrating the music and
legacy of these two giants of American song.

Sugar Blue – voc/harmonica
Rico Mc Farland - guitar
Motoaki Makino - guitar
Noel Neal - bass
Ilaria Lantieri - bass
James Knowles - drums
Bill Dickens - bass
Samuel Torres – percussion
1- Living your love/Sandy’s song
2- Average Guy
3- Noel News
4- Stop the war
5- Ramblin’
6- Cotton Tree
7- Messin’ with the kid
8- Tonight
9- Trouble
10-Don’t call me
12–Interview with Sugar Blue

See all titles featuring Sugar Blue

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.

Powered by JAZZLOFT.COM Copyright 1999-2011. All Rights Reserved.